Visitors


Morris was settled about 1723 and organized in 1767 as the South Farms parish of Litchfield. Morris was initially a farming community. It was incorporated as a separate town in 1859 and named for James Morris (1752–1820) a Revolutionary War soldier, who opened an academy in town in 1790. The ruins of the academy sit adjacent to the current James Morris Elementary school. Morris played a role in the Revolutionary War with many homes serving as quarters for revolutionaries from Maine and Vermont during their journey south to battles in New York.

Morris has a total area of 18.7 square miles (48 km2), of which, 17.2 square miles (45 km2) of it is land and 1.5 square miles (3.9 km2) of it (8.17%) is water.

Transportation

Route 61 (connecting to Bethlehem) and Route 63 (connecting to Litchfield and Watertown) are the main north-south highways in the town. Route 109 runs east-west from Washington Depot through West Morris, Lakeside, Morris town center, and East Morris before finally ending in Thomaston, Connecticut. Route 209 runs between routes 109 and 202 along the west shore of Bantam Lake. U.S. Route 202 passes through the northwest corner of Morris.

Town of Morris Connecticut

Town Hall

3 East St.
Morris, CT 06763


Ph: 860-567-7430

Fax: 860-567-7432